Look Out Your Window.

Five years ago, I was a senior in high school, looking forward to one thing: Senior Trip. We were going skiing in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado, a place I had only ever heard and dreamed of. All I could think about was getting to the top and finding out what 10,000 feet above sea level looked like.

What I didn’t know was that climbing that mountain would be equally – and perhaps even more – impressive that the view of the summit. As we drove across the base of the Rockies, they took my breath away. I had never seen something so massive, so seemingly unreachable, and here we were slowly making our may up the mountain. Even after reaching the resort, we still had to take a 5-10 minute cable-car to the top. The view was as incredible as I had hoped… but looking back, I’m so glad I paid attention to the journey.

 

—          —          —

Ariel and I are SO READY to be serving in Budapest. But we aren’t right now. We would love to have a date circled on the calendar in the next month or two… but so far we don’t. And while we trust in God that he will bring us to Budapest in his time, we would be foolish if we didn’t look out the window on the way. The way has been hard, and continues to be. We haven’t done this before, we don’t have complete control over our timetable, and we (especially me) are being forced to use and develop our weaknesses along with our strengths. It would be so easy to complain, to cry out to God and say, “Why is ministry so difficult? If you want us there, why don’t you provide as soon as possible? Aren’t all things possible with you?” But when I do that, I’m like a child who’s closing his eyes while scaling the Rockies, whining, “Are we there yet??”

All my life, I’ve wanted to be a better communicator. As a teacher, good communication is pretty much the most valuable thing I could have. I’ve never been a good speaker. If there’s anyone who understands Moses’ panic at the burning bush, saying (paraphrasing), “Please no, I…. you don’t understand… I… I hate talking. Like, I can’t. I just can’t…” then it’s me. So God called us to Hungary, and gave us a journey where we go into people’s homes, and we talk. I talk. I talk about what is perhaps (besides my wife) the most important part of my life right now, and I’m learning to enjoy it. I’m learning how to pick up the phone and ask people to join our ministry, even though calling someone has always been my LAST resort of getting in touch with them. We’re looking out the window at the hugeness of God and the greatness of his ministry in Budapest, and we’re finding, slowly but surely, the wonderful ways he brings us up a seemingly unconquerable mountain.

This week, please pray that we would not be discouraged, but that we would praise God for the ways he’s preparing us for our ministry in Budapest. Pray that we would trust him to provide. And as always, please let us know if you would like to partner with us. You have no idea what your giving means to us, much less to the people of Budapest and to God.

Leave a Reply

